Rice Business | Groups

Jill Foote
Lecturer of Management
Email: jfoote@rice.edu
Phone: 713-348-3146

Jill Foote is Senior Lecturer in Finance, Director of the El Paso Corporation Finance Center, and Director of the M.A. Wright Investment Fund (the MBA student-managed portfolio) at Rice University’s Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Business. Her principal teaching responsibilities are in investment management. She is also the faculty advisor of the Rice Finance Club and serves as Executive Director of the Rice Summer Business Institute, an intensive 2-week summer program introducing high school students from Houston’s low and moderate income areas to the world of business and finance. 

Prior to joining the Jones School in 2002, she worked for 13 years at Goldman Sachs in New York, where her later seven years were spent as a Vice President, managing projects in strategic initiatives, new business ventures, and risk management; and operational, regulatory, and financial audits and risk reviews. The first six years were spent as a sales associate in Fixed Income – first in Money Markets, then in Emerging Debt. 

Foote holds a Ph.D. in Economics from Fordham University, an M.A. in Economics from New York University, and a B.A. in Economics and Managerial Studies from Rice University, where she graduated Magna Cum Laude and Phi Beta Kappa. She also has a Chartered Financial Analyst designation and is on the Board of Directors of the CFA Society of Houston.


James Lenz
Associate Director
Email: james.e.lenz@rice.edu
Phone: 713-348-3166

James handles day-to-day operational matters in the Finance Center, educates students on analysis tools they will see in the finance workplace, and works with faculty members to develop ways to integrate the Finance Center's resources into the curriculum. James holds a B.S. in kinesiology from the University of Texas at Austin and a M.B.A. from the Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Business at Rice University. While at the Jones School, James served as the Chief Investment Officer of the M.A. Wright Fund.